Alternative to Varnish

When Tarbrush was here to oversee work on Falls of Clyde, one of the many things he suggested was to try out le Tonkinois as an alternative to regular varnish.

I purchased a tin (original) to see what it is like to work with and how it looks. Over the past few days, I have been working on a small section of the poop deck rail. Fortunately, the weather has been cooperating…not too hot and no rain.

The test subject:

rail

Detail of the rail as it was before I started:

presanding

Power to the ship has been dodgy lately, so I had to hand sand it. I am pretty patient, so it was not a problem.

Sanded and cleaned:

sanded and cleaned

Here is what the first coat of le Tonkinois looked like:

first coat

I applied the second coat yesterday afternoon. So far, so good I think! 😀

2 comments on “Alternative to Varnish

  1. MMG says:

    Yes, I think so, too. … looks good.

  2. Buck says:

    Gorgeous. I may get some for my (very small) wooden sailboat.

Leave a Reply

