Twigs from the Sky

I started off Saturday morning doing some prep work for the day’s projects. I stepped out of the aft cabin area to go to the paint locker and was a bit surprised to see a visitor walking towards me. He knew my name and mentioned the name of one of my neighbors. Ah! I remembered that my neighbor had told me that one of his colleagues had worked on the ship in the past.

He said he had stayed away from the ship all this time because it was too painful to see her in her present condition. Although I wasn’t involved with the ship in the past like he was, I think I can understand how he feels. I will always remember the day I saw that the rigging was being removed. It was like being punched in the gut. It was a horrible thing and would be to anyone who loves sailing ships. When I got my first close look at the ship after they had finished butchering her, I was filled with an awful mixture of incredible sadness, disgust, and rage.

Anyway, I told him we need all the help we can get to bring her to life again. I hope he will consider coming back.

He left to get back to his work, and I went back to mine. I was standing on the poop deck when I noticed that every so often a small twig would fall on the deck. Curious! Looking up, I saw that one of my bird friends (a zebra dove) was constructing a nest up on the jigger mast.

nest

zebra dove

At low tide, the new port bow mooring line tends to rest and rub on the concrete platform below the point it’s attached to at the street. The important task of the day was to put new chafing gear on the line. The previous version wasn’t done properly, so it was removed a few weeks ago.

Line sans chafing gear:

line before

After one of the other volunteers arrived, both of us went to work putting the new gear on the line. It was the first time either of us had done it, so it probably took longer than it should have. It’s not perfect or pretty, but I’m fairly confident it will do the job it’s supposed to do.

line now

Some amusing moments were provided by some cheeky sparrows that landed on the line. I’m sorry that I didn’t have my camera with me, as they were quite comical.

Passersby stopped to watch what we were doing. One fellow had a QR code app on his phone. He used it to read the QR code (pointing to the FoFOC website) I had generated and had made into a small sign. I’m happy to report that it works!

After having some lunch, I applied more elastomeric coating to the poop deck. It was really hot, so I decided to call it a day.

elastomeric

One comment on “Twigs from the Sky

  1. […] Saturday applying more elastomeric coating on the poop deck. (See the picture in the previous post Twigs from the Sky.) It’s going a bit slower than I thought it would, but that’s […]

Leave a Reply

