Catching Up

Real life has been keeping me busy, so I wasn’t able to write an entry for last weekend. Time to catch up!

There was some excitement at the ship last Saturday. When I arrived in the morning, it was clear that there had been trespassers on the ship. It seems that they went aboard some time after the concert at Aloha Tower Marketplace. I called the Tower and the Harbor Police were dispatched to the ship. I spoke to the officers and filled out a report. Fortunately, no damage seemed to be done.

That pretty much disrupted my plans for the day. I decided to leave the ship earlier than I normally do and return the following day.

Sunday proved to be a better day. Since the weather has been more moderate lately, it was quite pleasant sitting on the deck in the salon and working on my chafing gear project. As you can see, it’s the same design as the previous one.

chafing gear in progress

Fast forward to yesterday. I spent most of the day on the ship with the naval architect who is advising us. One thing he is working on is updating the drawings of the ship. It’s quite exciting to see what he has done so far. The new drawings will be a great tool for the organization on so many different levels. We also discussed photo documentation of the ship and have started developing a system for recording information.

tween deck detail

We spent some time in the pump room again. I find the area really interesting. I just wish it was in better condition for exploring on my own (two people required for safety reasons).

Base of foremast:

base of foremast

Looking up through hatchway:

sky from pump room

One thing that is interesting is the acoustics. Contrary to what one may think, some sounds from outside are magnified. Voices and noises from the Star of Honolulu sometimes seem as if they are coming from inside the hull of the Falls.

There was a sparrow perched on the wire rope stay (just visible as a small blip in the photo above), directly above the hatchway. Its chirps were quite loud. Before I actually saw it, I wondered where it was because it sounded like it was only few feet from where I was standing. Weird.

A break for lunch at Gordon Biersch. Two of the crew members from Hakurei Maru No. 2, which had arrived earlier in the morning, were on the pier operating radio controlled cars. (Sorry, no photo.)

On the way back from the Marketplace, we were discussing the trim of the ship when I spotted this young wedge-tailed shearwater in a drainage area on the pier near the ship:

young shearwater

(Sorry about the crappy cell phone pic. The good camera was on the ship.)

handle with care

We picked him up, put him in a box, and took him to the Humane Society.

2 comments on “Catching Up

  1. Buck says:

    Glad the trespassers weren’t malicious. Interesting photo of the foremast… got me wondering about the pumps. Are any old fashioned manual pumps still aboard? So much to learn!

    It was an excellent segue from the acoustics (and the bird overhead) to the bird underfoot. Happy he was saved!

    • weeboopiper says:

      Yeah, they were probably just drunk or something.

      I’m not a pump expert, so I can’t say for sure. As far as I know, the pumps we do have are steam-powered.

Leave a Reply

