An Adventure

I’m heading off on a short trip soon. Since I was running errands in the area, I thought I’d have a look at the ship (will miss the old girl) and harbor before I leave.

lines and bird FOC

The light brown blot in the photo is a flying dove.

Oops…

busted dock

Not surprised, given how it was being tossed about last Sunday. Hmm…that wood platform is pretty scary. And what’s up with those vertical boards that are rotted?

I know I said I’m not keen on cruise ships, but being a Britophile, I had to have a look at the Queen Elizabeth:

Queen Elizabeth name

Rat guards:

Queen Elizabeth rat guards

These appear to be made of wood. Unfortunately, the way they are tied on to the mooring lines defeats their purpose.

Abstract art:

mooring line abstract

Fender on Kaiyu Maru:

Kaiyu Maru fender

The water was calm and clear, proving good views of the fishes.

I was watching a cornetfish (Fistularia commersonii) swimming about when suddenly it changed color and developed broad, dark bands. That was pretty cool. I’d never seen one do that before.

cornetfish with dark bands

Anyway, that’s it for now. Look out for reports from the road.

2 comments on “An Adventure

  1. Buck says:

    Fair winds!

Leave a Reply

