Easy Tasks

Saturday turned out to be a lazy sort of day.

The tide was quite low when I arrived at the ship:

low tide

Oops. The location of the white paint mark is not quite right. I’m the one who painted it on the hull, so I can be critical. 🙂 It’s supposed to line up with the vertical double row of rivets. It indicates the location of one of the oil tank bulkheads.

I didn’t feel like doing anything too strenuous, so I decided to do a bunch of whippings…easy, relaxing, and satisfying work. I also cleaned out one scupper that was partially blocked by debris. I need to inspect the rest this coming weekend.

The scuttlebutt is that the upper floor of the Aloha Tower Marketplace is being converted into dorm rooms for HPU students. Lucky sods.

future HPU dorm rooms?

After I left the ship, I went to take a look at Shonan Maru.

Rope mat chafing gear:

Shonan Maru rope mat

More chafing gear:

Shonan Maru chafing gear

A fender, I think:

Shonan Maru fender?

***

The pressure’s on! Slightly less than a month left to get everything ready for the photographic survey of the hull. Eek.

One comment on “Easy Tasks

  1. […] Compare the above photo to the one from the 5th. […]

Leave a Reply

