“We Never Shall Build Their Likes Again”

I arrived at the harbor just a few minutes too late to get good photos of MELL Stamford:

MELL Stamford

The naupaka (Scaevola sericea) by the ship looked pretty:

naupaka

I did my usual tasks on board the ship, but, again, my heart wasn’t in it. The only thing that cheered me up was seeing a pair of mejiro at the same line as before.

I guess I have a lot to think about.

A monkey fist attached to one of Star of Honolulu’s lines:

Star of Hon monkey fist

Robert C. Seamans back in the harbor at Pier 9:

Robert C Seamans

Since I returned home rather early, I decided to make a real push to finish the photo survey work I had to do:

photo survey

Done.

Still feel rather melancholy.

I’ll sign off now with part of a poem by Cicely Fox Smith:

“These are the men that sailed and manned,
Worked her and drove her from land to land,
Most of ’em gone, as the ships are gone,
For times must change, as the old words run,
And men change with ’em, we know full well;
For worse or for better? Time will tell.
This only is certain, ships and men,
We never shall build their likes again.”

Indeed.

One comment on ““We Never Shall Build Their Likes Again”

  1. Buck says:

    It surely is a different time, but people are still willing to give working sail a try. Here is an article about BLACK SEAL from June 2011: http://open.salon.com/blog/rick_spilman/2011/06/15/cargo_sail_returns_to_new_york_cocoa_arrives_at_red_hook

    And here is a project to bring commercial sail back to the Hudson: http://vermontsailfreightproject.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

