Success at Last!

I’ve liked the ‘Oli ‘Oli whale buses ever since they were introduced. They are cute and cheery! I’ve tried taking photos of them around Ala Moana Shopping Center, but the results haven’t been very satisfactory (too far away, people or cars blocking the graphics).

Recently, I noticed that a whale bus would pass by Aloha Tower around the time I arrived in the morning to go to the ship. There were a number of missed opportunities, because I never had my camera ready.

A friend likened my attempt to get a photo of the bus, to stalking actual wildlife. It takes a bit of planning and patience.

This morning I got there a little early and planted myself in what I thought was a good location. For a while I wondered if the bus would show up and felt a bit silly.

Well, the waiting paid off!

Whale 12:

whale bus approaching

whale bus on the move

Yay me!

Leave a comment