It’s…Alive!

Ooo scary! Explanation to come later on in this post.

I spent Wednesday morning at the ship for a meeting related to the mooring lines. While there, I learned some disturbing news. The guy who was arrested for trespassing and stealing stuff from the ship is out of jail. So soon? What’s up with that?

Needless to say, I was really alert when I went aboard the ship this morning. I kept my eyes open for anything that seemed out of place and my phone at the ready. There was nothing out of the ordinary, as far as I could tell. A relief.

I took a few minutes to watch the arrival of Shinkai Maru:

Shinkai Maru

Nice to see a woman handling the line from the ship:

line handling

I found another weed:

another weed

And more bird gifts:

bird gifts

Today was spent helping to prep the ship for the arrival of reps from JMS Naval Architects and taking apart a wood ramp that was built for the old gangway.

Ladders ready:

ladders ready

I took a look at the pump room, which I haven’t done in a while. I noticed that a piece of something had fallen from somewhere, but it was good to see that the water level was still below the top of the keelson:

pump room

Tween deck above the pump room looking aft:

toward the light

Speaking of pumps…
[cue spooky music]

The pump that was dead is alive! :O

Paul stopped by give it a final check. He plugged it in and…it worked!

A friend had joked about it coming back to life…seems it is a zombie pump.

Zombie pump (left) and twin:

zombie pump and twin

Thanks to Paul for putting it back together and fixing the cord. Yes, Paul is awesome.

It had been raining on and off during the course of the morning and it looked like it was going to get worse.

flight

I was tired and not feeling 100%, so I decided to call it a day.

rain again

Leave a Reply

