Aloha, Moctobi

I had read about the plans to scrap (ex-) USS Moctobi and her sister ship (ex-) USS Quapaw, but hadn’t heard much beyond that. I just asked a friend about them, and he confirmed that, sadly, they are no more. They were broken up at Mare Island Ship Yard in the middle of last year.

Another piece of the Falls of Clyde story, now gone. I’m glad I got to see Moctobi when I did.

Moctobi

In a wild, crazy dream I had, I saw Moctobi here in Hawai‘i with the Falls. That will never happen now.

Aloha, Moctobi. Mahalo for your service to your country and to the Falls.

FOC, MAKING UP TOW WITH MOCTOBI, PIER 90 SEATTLE, 1963
Photo courtesy of the Friends of Falls of Clyde

Leave a Reply

