Weekend? What Weekend?

As I mentioned in the previous post, work’s been keeping me busy. I ended up going to the office this past Saturday. That’s the first time in a long time that I didn’t make it down to the ship. 😦

Thanks to a friend, I did get over to Pier 38 to pick up late lunch/early dinner and snap a ship photo.

Gulf Jumeirah:

Gulf Jumeirah

I made up for Saturday on Sunday.

There was activity on the pier (surprise!), as an underwater survey was carried out. I helped a wee bit at the start by providing some line from the ship, then retreated to the tween deck to work with Paul. He took care of the suction line to the aftpeak. I felt bad for not being very useful.

The ship was listing a fraction of a degree to starboard, so we ran the pumps until she was back on an even keel.

Short Video of Pumps

It’s quite satisfying to hear them working smoothly. There didn’t seem to be much hope for them a couple of years ago:

sad pump

pumps need work

I’ve been tasked with getting samples of the hull (wrought iron). Hm. Wasn’t sure where to even begin going about it! After talking to a few people and with timely help from Paul, I now have a sample from a hull plate and a frame to send off for analysis.

hull sample

I’m still frustrated by what’s going on, but I’ll do what I can for the ship.

“I get by with a little help from my friends…”

Leave a Reply

