Plans Go Awry

Despite a forecast of nasty weather (rain, strong wind), I decided to go to the harbor to catch the arrival of the tanker Valrossa.

rough weather

While waiting, I wandered along Pier 9.

Cunard’s Queen Elizabeth was at Pier 10/11.

Spray from the swells beating against her stern:

surge Queen Elizabeth

Mat protecting the hull of Hokuho Maru:

Hokuho Maru mat

Hoku Ke‘a:

Hoku Ke‘a

Honolulu taking the pilot out to Valrossa:

Honolulu headed out

I watched Falls of Clyde rolling at her berth at Pier 7.

Port side of the ship:

FOC port side swell

Sigh. Poor girl.

Large swell hitting the wall at the end of Pier 7:

wave makai side Pier 7

Valrossa was approaching the harbor, when I heard a loud “bang” from FOC. Oh-oh. That didn’t sound good. I hurried over to the ship.

Oh great. Problem with the gangway. Again.

FOC gangway problem

Although I haven’t had much to do with the ship (by choice) since I resigned from the organization, I notified the board members and waited until one of them showed up. I could have left then, but I stayed to help.* So much for photos of Valrossa.

The weather improved over the course of the afternoon. I was pleased to get some nice shots of Queen Elizabeth as she left the harbor.

Queen Elizabeth detail

Queen Elizabeth

Queen Elizabeth bow

Mikioi assisting:

Mikioi Queen Elizabeth

passenger silhouette

Blocky stern!

Queen Elizabeth stern

The Star of Honolulu and Navatek I were floating around in the harbor. I assume this was because it was too rough for them to do their normal off-shore dinner cruises?

Star of Honolulu:

Star of Honolulu

With Queen Elizabeth gone, Hokuho Maru was preparing to shift to Pier 10.

Getting ready to remove gangway:

Hokuho Maru gangway

Fender:

Hokuho Maru fender

Pulling away from Pier 9:

Hokuho Maru pulling away from pier

*Big mahalo to Rick Wilson and the crew of Pi‘ilani (Captain Jeff Page, Chris Vincent, and Bruno Fonoti-Ulufale) for answering the call. You guys are awesome!

2 comments on “Plans Go Awry

  1. starbuck5250 says:

    These modern cruise liners don’t catch my fancy. On the other hand, my OCD insists that I catch a plane to Honolulu and fix that mat – the braid isn’t all going the same way! 🙂

    • weeboopiper says:

      LOL. I hadn’t noticed. Now, it’s going to bug me too. Still, it’s a nice use of traditional skills to make a functional piece of gear.

Leave a Reply

